Shop: VINTAGE NYC

11 Nov

Vintage shopping in NYC is one activity that sends me into absolute paroxysms of delight. Such is the lure of vintage clothing, that when in Australia I am often compelled to stay up all night squinting at the computer just so I can spend a squazillion dollars in pre-dawn bidding wars on Ebay, for some random and totally unwearable accoutrement (single Lanvin glove, anyone?), that invariably arrives reeking of mothballs and cigarettes. Thus, NYC shopping is the cake to my fat kid. Vintage is everywhere, it’s (relatively) cheap, no one fights you for it, and best of all you can try before you buy. Yes, you get totally laughed at by the hipster-cool NYC kids, who will tell you that if you really knew what’s what you would be lounging around in a poncho made out of a Mexican horse blanket that you bought for 50 cents at a thrift store. Luckily, it’s unlikely that you will stop squealing over your $35 vintage YSL blouse long enough to care.

Over the next few weeks, I’ll be posting my favourite vintage pieces from my recent NYC trip, including items from Amarcord, Beacon’s Closet, Gypsy Nation Vintage, and some other places I can’t remember the names of.

GYPSY NATION VINTAGE

Artists & Fleas, 70 North 7th Street (between Wythe & Kent), Brooklyn, NY

Artists & Fleas is a weekend market housed in an old warehouse in Brooklyn, filled with eccentric vintage collectors, indie designer chicks, and dudes with tattoos selling their art. I think. My memory is a little sketchy on this one, as I was so dazzled by the outfits at Gypsy Nation Vintage (set conveniently just inside the entrance), that I barely made it past the front door. What I can tell you is this – Gypsy Nation is one holy-freakin-amazeballs gypsy-circus-aladdin’s-cave collection of wonderment. It was a moment of unparalleled restraint that saw me get out of there with only two small purchases. The first – a vintage Leonard Paris floral sweater – caught my eye immediately, primarily for the print, which I think is absolute perfection. No idea how I’m going to wear the 80’s batwing sleeves, but for now I’m happy just to look at it.

Leonard Paris sweater from Gypsy Nation Vintage

The second item was an amazing 70s print dress selected for me by the owner. You know those pieces that get compliments/where-did-you-get-thats/marriage proposals every time you wear them? This is one of those.

i to i dress from Gypsy Nation Vintage

– Z xx

Leave a Reply

