How to Wear: A TOUCH OF GOLD

13 Dec

I’ve blogged before about how I’m not a massive fan of little things, and usually that statement extends to jewellery also. I prefer knuckledusters, bibs, and cuffs to thin rings, chains, and tennis bracelets – the latter usually calling to mind images of  nasty things like Stepford Wives and ladies that like to match their bags to their shoes. HOWEVER (this is the bit where I contradict myself), there is something to be said for the allure of the fine gold necklace, as seen recently at Me & Ro, Van Rycke, and Aurelie Bidermann. With this in mind, during my recent stalks of street-style blogs, I have been keeping an eye out for the fine gold chain worn well. It seems the formula is relatively simple: plain tee + dishevelled hair + fine gold chain = pared-back perfection.

image via streetfsn

image via Jak & Jil blog

rose gold heart necklace by Van Rycke from My Chameleon

I think this look works particularly well if you are inclined to wear a statement piece (e.g. the culottes in the first picture), but are bored of the statement everything + arm-parties-galore + bib necklace + YSL-arty- ring-or-five thing, as currently seen on fash bloggers everywhere (apart from Hanneli. Hanneli is someone who I’m sure wears simple gold chains all the time).

One Response to “How to Wear: A TOUCH OF GOLD”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Feature: I DIE, DIY! TOP FIVE D.I.Y. PROJECTS OF 2011 « Acqua Allegoria - December 14, 2011

    […] go forth and craft! But before you do, you can enter my giveaway for the fruits of my OWN LAME D.I.Y. LABOUR! Yes, unforch it’s not a stapled cushion, but you can WIN the gold leaf necklace featured in […]

Leave a Reply

