Inspiration: ANIMALIA PARAPHERNALIA, it’s a jewellery jungle out there!

11 Jan

An ode to the animal kingdom:

I love animals, truly I do

But I don’t want to feed them or walk them (would you?)

and seeing as taxidermy’s not my thing

really, what better than a nice big ring?

Ok poetry’s not my thing either but what else was I to do but pen a passionate poem on the subject that has occupied my mind night and day? I want it, I need it, I SIMPLY MUST HAVE a shiny little (or big) jewelled animal to call my own!

Dior, Delphina Delettrez, and Chopard are my inspiration, Dior’s turtle ring being at the top of my “one day when I’m rich” wish list.

Dior turtle ring, P.O.A, via diorjoaillerie.com

Dior fish earrings P.O.A, via dior.com

Chopard bee ring, P.O.A, via chopard.com

Chopard monkey pendant P.O.A, via chopard.com

Delphina Delettrez ring, via delphinadelettrez.com

Delphina Delettrez beehive necklace AU $3 000, via delphinadelettrez.com

Until my poetry starts raking in the big bucks, the above beauties are, sadly, aspirational.  However, a tout about the world wide web turns up some lovely, more achievable options for a budget conscious fashionista, including a darling antelope on etsy . Fuelled by desire for my own bargain beastie, I hit the local shopping centre and headed to a tacky budget jewellery chain store in the hope of turning up a treasure. And what do you know, I struck gold – nestled in the charm cabinet amongst blingy initials and 21st keys was my lovely lady bug, and in that moment I knew it was love (it’s much easier to fall in love when the price is right). See my new pet pictured below … soon to be added to my bracelet alongside a triple-jointed crocodile and a flying unicorn.

Cx

my new lady bug, all at sea

Vintage antelope pin AU $24, via etsy.com

Leave a Reply

